A Bird In The Hand

Studio_20160516_195112

Today after several phone calls to people who say they are animal lovers (but who mostly fell very short of that mark) I met an angel.

Early this morning I was hanging the washing out when I spotted this little thing looking rather sorry for itself. I observed for a while to check for mother but there was no sign of her. He seemed a little unsteady to me and apart from a few dodgy steps he sat huddled and looked very unhappy. With a lively dog about who doesn’t take kindly to intruders on his patch I decided to keep the dog in for a bit and keep an eye on this little chap. I put out some seed and water in his reach and waited.

A couple of hours went by and still no sign of mother. Birdy was sat in exactly the same spot on the table and shivered intermittently so I decided to send some distance Reiki in the hope this would help. This seemed to bring him round a bit and he stirred. After a good look around he launched himself off only to get about four foot in the air and in a downward turn south went smack into the greenhouse. I wasn’t sure if he hadn’t done himself a mischief but he managed to get himself on to a nearby overturned bucket and resumed his stance. He seemed to be okay when I went to have a look and nothing was broken or torn.

I was sure mother would come soon so I set up a vigil inside the house and waited. No such luck. Two more hours later Birdy was in the herb garden and Mother was still nowhere to be seen. I wasn’t too happy with the look of him but I don’t have a car at my disposal as my man takes it to work. So what to do?

I decided to see if anyone helped pigeons. I looked online and found a useful website on feral pigeon rescue. Fortunately there were two possibles in the area. I rang one and the number was discontinued, I rang the other and was told to take it to a vet and get it put down or better still do it myself. Lovely!

So I dug a little deeper in the ether and came up with someone in the next county. She was rather busy with her rescue centre animals but this woman was lovely. She totally understood that killing it wasn’t the answer I was seeking. She gave me the number of someone local who rescues animals and said she would take the bird in herself if the lady would bring it in for me. I duly rang said number and offered to pay for petrol and a donation to the centre. This woman was furious and said I was wasting her time with a pigeon and if I was that bothered then I should take it to a vet who would put it down. By this point I was getting a little un-Zen like privately. The message was clear. A life isn’t worth saving unless it is a pretty bird or a cute hedgehog or perhaps a baby badger.

I went back apologetically to the first nice lady and asked her if she knew anyone else. She was flabbergasted when I told her the woman she had sent me to refused to help despite the petrol money and donation and after a little thought put me on to another lady she knew.

Well, this next lady was eager to come and sort out Birdy for us. She is 70 years old and helps any wild animal that comes across her path with tenderness and love. By herself with no help. She gave him a good looking over and saw he hadn’t been fed. So she said she would take Birdy home and hand rear him then bring him back to release him again in the garden.

When I gave her the donation she wanted to halve it. I disagreed and said not only had she come out of her way but she had also restored my faith in humanity and kindness. She looked as if she was about to cry, asked me for a hug and then told me she did it all on her pension after her husband had died, it was hard but she managed just about and loved what she did. I also found out she has ovarian cancer, is in a bit of pain and still she keeps on doing what she is doing with a dedication and a devotion which is truly inspirational.

What a truly wonderful and brave soul she is. We will be keeping in touch.

13 thoughts on “A Bird In The Hand”

  1. It’s also next to impossible in the US to find a rescue that will take wild birds unless they’re raptors or endangered. The sad fact is that wild fledglings often don’t survive even with dedicated care, and rescues often don’t have the resources, because that care is very specialized, intensive, and time-consuming. The same rule seems to apply here as well: If it isn’t “sexy” or endangered, no one cares. As a particularly birdy person, that makes me sick inside.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. People who come along to remind us the world’s not a complete, irredeemable wreck have been on my mind today, too. I think I’m about to give one of them a call. He was a saver of birds, too, actually. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel the same way – every life is important regardless of supposed intelligence or species especially when they are in trouble. Some might argue it’s nature’s way of controlling populations when not every animal survives. This is true but that doesn’t mean a suffering animal should be left in pain or to die a slow miserable death when discovered. People like Nettie are doing such wonderful selfless work in service to such causes and I salute her and others like her. Heartwarming 🙂

      Like

I would love to hear what you think...

