Have you tried ASMR?

hqdefault
Maria of GentleWhispering YouTube channel

Have you heard of ASMR? I hadn’t until a few months ago when I was idly searching for relaxation videos of YouTube. To start with I wondered what on Earth I had stumbled across. There was this woman whispering into the camera, making hand movements and tapping her nails on some object. Each to their own, thought I. Then curiosity got the better of me and I put some headphones on as suggested. Twenty minutes later and I was swimming in relaxation. Her voice was hypnotic and the tapping sound she was creating was incredibly soothing, it was giving me the shivers. Maria is considered one of the top artists out there and her channel is worth a trawl through.

I came away somewhat bemused that first time and, of course, investigated. I learnt that ASMR is –

“Autonomous sensory meridian response (ASMR) is a euphoric experience characterized by a static-like or tingling sensation on the skin that typically begins on the scalp and moves down the back of the neck and upper spine, precipitating relaxation.”

Wikipedia

Aha. A type of sound energy healing then, perhaps?

This phenomenon has swept over YouTube in the past few years. The ASMRists use everyday objects to make a variety of different sounds, such as the tapping I first heard, to induce a calmer state of mind and this can be helpful for those with anxiety or insomnia…or just for simple relaxation.

Of course, there had to be those who said it was a sexual thing particularly when done by good looking women fully made up and handsome men cooing softly. Admittedly there are some slightly dodgy ASMRists who are dressed (or not dressed!!) in a way I personally don’t want to be eyeing up for twenty minutes or longer but I simply avoid these channels and stick to my favourite people whom I know are going to keep it pure! There is also the role play side which some people find works for them but, personally speaking, that tends to make me laugh more than induce tingles of any sort…still it has its place if you need a giggle 😀

It took me a while to discover my own triggers and now, for me, fast tapping and crinkling things are my top two favourites. If you are curious yourself then pop “ASMR triggers” into your YouTube search box and choose someone like WhispersRed, massageASMRHeather Feather or asmrsurge (who has a very good video on there of purely sound triggers called ‘Tiny Triggers’ – linked below). It may take a bit of experimentation to find what works for you and to decide if you want whispers as well or just pure sound but it is worth it.

If you suffer from anxiety, can’t sleep or simply find relaxation hard to do then ASMR could be a way of helping you have a few minutes relief from the merry go round or even send you off to dreamland.

Try it by popping on your headphones and listening to the videos below 🙂

8 thoughts on “Have you tried ASMR?”

I would love to hear what you think...

