How Will We Make Progress?

world-549425_960_720

As some of you will know by now, I do like to have positive vibes and light-heartedness on this blog of mine but there are some topics I feel quite serious about. This is one of them. I write about it with a passion because I believe it to be so vitally important to all our futures. I hope you do too.

Curiosity. I was a ‘Why?’ child. I always wanted to know why something was how it was. When I read something in a book which peaked my interest I would question it and find out as much as I could. I would draw my own conclusions. I still do that. In fact, I make a point of doing so.

There is not enough free-thinking in the world today in my humble opinion. A question is asked, an answer given and the answer accepted – often without further investigation. Any scholar worth their salt won’t go to Wikipedia for definitive answers and yet that same scholar may look at at a conclusion which appears to be cast in stone but based on one or two people’s conclusions and take that as the only answer. It allows them to pass exams, I suppose. It did me! I spurted out those ‘facts’ with the best of them. If I hadn’t done so at the time there wouldn’t have been much point in my being there. But did I question these facts myself privately…you bet I did.

Let me give you an example. The Giza Pyramids. Everybody knows these were built as tombs and built at the directive of certain pharoahs at a certain time, right? Maybe not. There wasn’t a mummy found in the largest pyramid and yet it is said it was a tomb. The reason why it was identified as being built by a certain pharoah is because that pharoah’s name (or something very like it!) was found written  in a very inaccessible place (at least we know if this is the case then he had a very small ego…I’m kidding. A bit. *smiles*). It is far more likely it was simply refurbrished by that Pharoah and the graffiti inside done by the craftsmen who, proud of their work, wanted to be remembered. Later pyramids were of poorer quality (progression?!) and were adorned majestically with the name of the Pharoah concerned. The date of the larger Giza pyramid is based on when we know the said Pharoah ruled Egypt. Naturally 😉

These conclusions have been based and passed down to us on the say so of a few scholars who repeated what one or two men decided in the era when Egyptology was born. There has been further thought on this but because of the political situation and peer pressure it is hard for any Egyptologist who wants to carry on working in the field to speak up and say ‘Hang on?!’. The scholar who was banned from entering the country of Egypt and from working there again after she disagreed with someone nameless who was high up in the Department of Antiquities found that out. Right there is the problem.

The scientific world is not open to having major points challenged or changed. The human timeline is not up for changing whatsoever – they say we were hunters and gatherers at a certain time, we were this and that at other times. Everyone has been taught how and when civilisation started when at school and perhaps college and university. Anything else is pseudo science and is to be ignored if the scientific community has its way. I am not sure where that leaves sites such as Gobekli Tepe and Gunung Padang which have been scientifically proven to be older than the current human timeline allows them to be. It’s all pretty quiet on the science front, as if they are all waiting for someone from their ranks to step forward. Those ranks are tightly closed as a rule – step out of line and wave goodbye to your career. Don’t make waves. How will progress be made if this carries on and  those with the power to make changes are too intent on protecting their own interests? One of the scientists who has put himself on the line where Egypt is concerned is Robert Schoch, an American geologist, whom I believe was brought in by John Anthony West to try and put a firmer date on the Sphinx. His evidence for an older date is pretty convincing but has the science community heard him? Again, there seems to be a deafening silence from the ranks.

It isn’t just in our scientific communities. It is in our religious communities too. Religions don’t want to lose their grip on the faithful…their purses or their minds. People are told what to do, how to behave, what to think. And, radically, what to do about those who think differently which leads to wars, genocide and atrocities…which can never truly reflect the expectations or requirements of a kind, loving deity, surely?

There are other sorts of pressures which can stop us thinking for ourselves such as community or peer pressure, a natural compliance for authority, being wrapped up in our own six foot of space or thinking we can’t make a difference so why try…the list can go on!

Free-thinking isn’t a left over remnant from the 1970’s. It is something which we must all strive to do. Tolerance and acceptance of our fellow mankind is important too. If we are to save this beautiful planet we must learn to think for ourselves to solve problems and join with others who will do the same. We can’t allow power games, greed and egos to get in the way of progress for the betterment of us all.

Listen to the words of the indigenous peoples. They respect the land and their teachings have value. Even more so now that we have lost our way. They know where we came from, their oral traditions are passed down and their wisdom and knowledge priceless. We can no longer afford to remain happy in our arrogance and ignorance of what we are doing to the Earth.

I urge you not to believe everything you read or what you see on the news at first glance. The latter is often sensationalised. Start investigating things for yourself. Keep your mind open to new and different viewpoints. Show tolerance for different opinions and listen carefully before reaching your conclusion. See the value in multiple viewpoints to get to the truth. Share what you find with others. Get people talking about it. Find knowledge and you empower yourself. Share knowledge and you empower others.

Let’s teach our children to ask questions, have tolerance and be independently minded. Show them how to value other cultures, ideas and thoughts. Teach them respect for themselves and for others.

It all starts with our children because they will be the leaders and thinkers who will be in control of what happens next for all of mankind and this beautiful, vital planet we live on.

11 thoughts on “How Will We Make Progress?”

  1. Hooray, I have no kids, so I can just sit on my butt and do nothing!

    Okay, okay…. 🙂

    I’ve been thinking a lot about the work I’ve been doing with Earthing cords and how it might fit in with other things that have surfaced over the years in my explorations. I think it all is supported by central post that isn’t of my making, but of James Lovelock’s. He briefly proposes in his first book on the Gaia theory that the role of humanity in Gaia is supposed to be the gathering, storing, and communicating of information throughout the system. We are uniquely capable in that realm among living things.

    It’s an idea we’d started exploring before everything collapsed for John, Drew, and me. In short, we tried to actually *do* that. The three of us made a pretty unusual system of our own — a shaman, a very strong natural energy amplifier and transmitter, and a marine biologist. We’d just gotten started when our plans to explore what we were capable of were scrapped by John’s death. I still think similar things are possible in a different way, and that the cord may be the basic requirement of fulfilling that role. For communication, there has to be connection.

    Is anyone likely to listen to any of this in my lifetime? Nope. Science and faith need to be a lot more comfortable with each other first. And for that to happen, the fundamentalists on both sides of the fence need to be recognized as being the fringes they are, not as the leaders. In the end, saying that anything that can’t be measured by the scientific method isn’t real is just as fundamentalist as is saying that approaching religion with a rational mind is a mortal sin.

    One of my favorite books is The Dancing Wu Li Masters. The science is quite out of date now (though not enough so to invalidate the book’s main points), but it shows what could be possible through approaching the universe via a spiritually scientific mind. That might be the greatest lesson I took from my time with John and Drew: We need both.

    (Oh, and p.s.: Tone — successfully balanced. 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Both hand in hand definitely! I would say I am as equally scientifically minded as I am spiritually minded.

      The trouble happens when something is scientifically proven but doesn’t fit the general consensus and/or upsets the political cart in some way. This happens a lot in my fields of interest. We can’t progress in our understanding on a scientific level if we don’t take in to account new ideas and modes of thinking just because they may negate accepted stances. Of course, we then start getting into funding and most scientists will tell you of the difficulties of getting any of that for something which won’t make money or worse, lose it once the results are in…

      Amazon rainforest felling, indigenous people pushed out of their lands, global warming, hunger, drought, poverty, war, etc. Often caused or ignored as much by greed, power and ego as circumstance and ignorance.

      I know a single voice, a year or even a century can’t make all the changes which need to happen but knowledge, education of a factual nature, encouraging free thought, using sustainable energy sources and teaching the next generation a better way HAS to be something we can all contribute to. Because it matters. Because without these changes, how will we get off the path we are on and where will we finish up as a species?

      Thank you for taking the time to reply at length, Maia, much appreciated! I look forward to reading your finished article.

      And now I shall get off my soap box and retire to bed for the night 🙂

      Like

      1. My biggest issue has long been the everything-or-nothing stance each side takes toward the other. Science says that anything that cannot be measured and judged as true by the scientific method is invalid or literally not real. Faith says that to demand measurement or proof of anything is heresy. To each side, all things must be judged by their own standards, and only by them. Meanwhile, I’m perfectly happy to Reiki (“pseudo-science”) my bottle of Metformin (100 years of scientific testing and proven effectiveness, but an “Evil Pharmaceutical Poison”) and reap the benefits of both, even as both sides insist I’m hurting myself by doing things “THOSE people’s” way…and my numbers went from chronic long-term diabetes to non-diabetic in eight months. Who’s getting hurt, exactly?

        I was at least partially guilty of the all-or-nothing mindframe (but never to that extreme degree) until I started learning fofo, and something about how Samoan culture works along with it. The history and cultural reasons behind Samoan traditional medicine surviving and functioning alongside Western medicine for as long as it has is a story of there not being One True Way. An in-short example is aspirin: It worked better for headaches than any of the traditional medicines did, and not as well by far for muscle pain. So now, in the islands at least, a fofo might very well hand you an aspirin for your headache, and give you a massage using the appropriate leaves for a sprained knee. That definitely gave me a perspective on healing that I hadn’t had from other types I’d learned. The legal “This is not a replacement, go to a doctor, blah blah blah” thing appears in every book and during every course for legal reasons, but how many of those authors or teachers really believe you should ever go to The Evil Doctor and get Evil Poison Medicines? No more than 10% would be my guess. Fundamentalism is what it is, and isn’t restricted to religion.

        (No worries, I’ll be here keeping the soapbox warm 🙂 )

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your premise, especially as it applies to theology/religion. I escaped fundamentalism years ago. Ironically what attracted me to it was the control and manipulation. I didn’t have to use my brain. Everything was laid out for me in black and white. Now, I don’t have the answers but I surely do think a lot. And yes, the deity I worship now is all about peace, compassion , and tolerance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think every answer leads to another question if we are open to thinking about it further and that’s the way it should be. We will never know it all because there would be no need to exist if we did. Or that existence would certainly be bland and uninteresting!

      Thank you for taking the time to comment, Larry Paul, much appreciated.

      I hope you are having a wonderful weekend!

      Like

  3. I believe that many facts are entertaining to read about and along the a hypothesis about a new discovery. Who are we and why are we here? The age old question to sets both our science community and those of faith into motion. I call it all entertainment because I believe that the true nature of the answer is captured in the nature of energy itself in all of it’s many forms and it’s actually fun for me to ponder these thoughts and idea’s but give little acknowledgement to any. For me there are more important things in a very small circle of life that I currently take up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Yes, Hancock’s Magicians of the Gods makes for a very interesting read. If you want more on Gobekli Tepe then the book by Andrew Collins might be a place to start.

      There is always a lot of talk around 10,000-11,000BC…a deluge, a comet hitting North America above Michigan, islands sunk and their learned former inhabitants going out into the rest of the world to name a few subjects. It is highly probable there was certainly a flood which impacted on the Earth’s inhabitants.

      There are so many stories passed down through indigenous folk that I believe we would be foolish to shrug all those stories off as just made up tales around the fire. We also know there have been significant changes scientifically such as floods, pole changes, ice ages, tectonic plate movement (or others, if you like) shifting land masses which happen naturally in the Earth’s big cycle of geological events. Yellowstone is also overdue for some serious action, I believe. It’s a cycle which we have no control over.

      I agree, there is much to learn and it would be great if minds were kept open and simple scientific studies undertook more often and in significant places such as the Giza Plateau.

      Anyway I love a bit of speculation – keeps things fresh and possibilities endless 😉

      Thanks for reading ☺

      Like

I would love to hear what you think...

