Sleep Easier

20160627_110809

The summer months brings those muggy nights where hot flushes due to hormones can become unbearable. There are a few ways you can help relieve the intensity and here I will share with you what I use from my aromatherapy cupboard*.

I have discovered that putting a couple of drops each of Cajeput, Eucalyptus and Roman Chamomile essential oils on my bedtime t-shirt before I go to sleep gives me a much better night’s sleep. The Cajeput and Eucalyptus help to keep the airways clear and have a cooling effect and the Roman Chamomile relaxes and calms. I suggest you use an old t shirt if you are going to put essential oils directly on to it…they will stain and may ruin a silk negligee 😉

I can recommend rubbing a couple of drops of Peppermint essential oil on the soles of your feet for those early morning hot flushes or you can divide a drop between your fingers and rub into your temples. Wash your hands well afterwards though so you don’t get it in your eyes once snuggled back in to bed. Alternatively, put two drops on a cotton pad and inhale a couple of times or scoot it across your forehead, on your temples and the back of your neck.

Rose and Lavender essential oils are also wonderful rubbed on the soles of your feet to calm you down and get you in the mood for sleep. Rub three drops of either (or a 2:1 ratio if you are feeling daring!) between your fingertips and massage neat into each foot. You can also put a couple of drops of Lavender or Rose essential oil directly on your pillowcase…again they may stain so do use a pillowcase you are happy to take the risk with.

You can make a room or pillow spray for a better night’s sleep using Roman Chamomile, Sandalwood and Lavender essential oils. For a 100ml spray bottle use filtered water, a teaspoon of vodka and four drops each of the essential oils. If you want a stronger scent you can add another two drops of each oil. Spray this into the centre of the room or on your pillow before turning off the light and dream easier!

*I am not a qualified aromatherapist just self-taught so do check with someone who is qualified first and do not use any of my remedies if you are pregnant or have respiratory difficulties. All remedies are used at your own risk.

16 thoughts on “Sleep Easier”

    1. Thanks, Samanatha!

      Lavender is so versatile! I use it for so many things…headaches, cuts and grazes to prevent infection, in my hair after shampooing (usually with rosemary to promote shiny, thicker hair), bathtime, sleep…to name a few. It’s the aromatherapy number one oil 🙂

      Like

  1. I have found that if you do get a little peppermint to close to your eyes or actually in them use a little coconut oil around your eyes to help draw the oil back out. If you use water it tends to intensify the burning sensation and drive the oil in deeper. I love essential oils and would be lost without them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for that brilliant tip, Faye, I haven’t tried that and will keep it in mind. I have only managed to get it in my eyes ‘good and proper’ once and that was an ‘ooh!’ moment. I have been very careful since *smiles*

      Loving coconut oil too. I use it for so many things!

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear what you think...

