Autumn Gardening

20160903_135815

As autumn approaches it is time to start thinking about pruning things back and tidying up ready for the colder months. We only have a small patch of soil but there is still plenty to do.

There are several shrubs which need a prune and a particularly hardy creeper plant that takes over the gardens hereabouts (but whose name escapes me!) needs taming before we disappear under it. It does go a beautiful red and copper shade so I confess I am really waiting for that but it is nearly its time.

20160903_135144

The herb garden is coming along nicely and has provided me with a big jar of dried lavender and many daily herbal tea infusions this year using the lemon balm, catnip, peppermint et al. It’s been very generous.

I decided not to take any more of the herbs to dry as I feel they need to get established before we take too much from them. The roman chamomile has started to trail across and the bergamot has come back after getting a little sickly. The first lemon balm we bought and planted (in the top right of the photo above) is doing really rather nicely and, I think, will be strong next year.

I have decided to put a crystal grid in the herb garden next year and I am in the process of designing it. We had to cut a few branches off a tree and I hope to use some of those sliced up in with the design.

20160911_125248

The pinapple mint is loving the spot it is in as are the second lemon balm, the catnip and the lemon verbena. I am going to put these four in the greenhouse over winter along with the moroccan mint and a few of the others. I am not sure if the lemon verbena will survive in our unheated greenhouse but we shall keep an eye on her and see how she goes.

20160911_125114

So during winter this year it looks as if I shall have to buy some dried catnip, lemon balm and some others if I am to carry on with my various potions but this time next year I have a feeling I am going to be drying out plenty to keep me going over the winter of 2017 and I am hopeful I won’t have to buy many herbs in at all! How satisfying!

It has been a very successful year in the garden with my partner having a good stock of potatoes, onions, fennel, tomatoes, peas, asparagus and all sorts to offer to the table. He is hoping to have some potatoes ready for Yule dinner too. I’m very grateful and proud of his work in the garden this year in particular. He doesn’t have a lot of spare time but what he does have gets used to provide extra food for our family from our small patch and he also builds things from scratch such as wooden wall units for my jars and crystals – my hero – couldn’t ask for more!

I know he reads this blog of mine so just going to say a big Thank You!

 

10 thoughts on “Autumn Gardening”

I would love to hear what you think...

