Self Help Books?

woman-520220__480

I have come to the conclusion that when one reaches a certain age one starts to reach instinctively towards a self-help book. There’s a whole market of the things out there. Whatever your primary outlook in life there is a book or ten out there for you. All written so you can nod your head so vigorously at the contents you either get dizzy or need actually physio.

studio_20160926_095801

I reached that certain age around 9pm last Tuesday (it might have been 10am the Sunday before…I can’t remember what I ate for lunch yesterday sometimes) and I found myself book shopping. I bought Caroline Myss’s Sacred Contracts, The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle and F*ck Feelings by Dr Michael Bennett and his daughter Sarah Bennett.

victims-1616543__480

Sacred Contracts has been around since 2001 so I am a bit behind with reading this one. I also bought the card deck which Myss has done which goes with the book. The card deck is simply a printed set of all the different archetypes which are said to make up our personalities, the idea being that you go through them and pick another eight to go with the four we all have already. The four we all have, apparently, are Child (various sorts, pick one card), Prostitute (yes, my thoughts exactly but it isn’t that sort of prostitute!), Saboteur and Victim. I admit at first glance I wasn’t keen on making the Victim or Prostitute cards part of my package but there are much deeper meanings than a mere word can put over at first glance. There are light and shadow attributes with the light attribute being the positive one which, in the case of the Victim, “prevents you from letting yourself be victimised or victimising others”. After much wrangling I managed to find my other eight cards, at least for now, but it was much harder than I thought it would be and I am not settled on them until I have read the book and the more expanded explanations of each archetype contained therein. I shall see how it all goes 🙂

20160926_095527

The Power of Now is another one I am slow to discover, which to be fair is hardly surprising when I wasn’t looking for it. Written by Eckhart Tolle way back in 1999, it was a book which found its way by word of mouth to start with and then, after Oprah Winfrey got her paws on it and acclaimed it a sensation, the whole of America read it. Well, that’s sort of what happened. I may have embellished a bit there but Oprah certainly read it because it says so on the cover. As I write this I am on page 32 so I can’t give a fair review. There have been a few raised eyebrow moments for me so far but those moments are what keeps life interesting and I am completely open minded to begin with about anything I read. I don’t dismiss the ridiculous, I ponder it a bit first. It is funny the nuggets of truth which reveal themselves when this stance is taken.

F*ck Feelings is a more modern self help book and came out about a year ago. It promises to be humorous as the co-author Sarah Bennett is a comedian. I rather like that. I do appreciate a self help author who doesn’t take themselves too seriously. It is on my shelf in third position to read and is quite a chunky book so I am reading that last.

I think the reasons all this has come up for me as suddenly important are obvious in some ways. Here I am, a grandmother now, having had five children and a varied and interesting life so far. Some of that life has been difficult and has left the odd scar which now needs healing. Now is my older and wiser time. A time to, perhaps, look more closely at some of the things which have brought me to this point but which I had mentally boxed up because I had too much going on to deal with them. It might be painful, it might be comforting, it will be difficult. I am not sure which of these will rear its head first or if they will all be there together in the mix. What I do know is that it is like finally deciding to get up the ladder and clean the attic…one is not overly enthused at the thought but it needs doing and can’t be put off any longer.

Time to get the gloves on and reach for the duster…

woman-1566154_1280

9 thoughts on “Self Help Books?”

  1. Many of the self help books I’ve bought over the years (yes my self help library is pretty extensive!) say very similar things but in a slightly different way and it’s strange how I seem to pick up the one with the message that fits at the right time.. The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle is one I read a couple of years ago when I was spending far too many hours at work and it definitely provided me with some golden nuggets that have stayed with me.. There were parts of it that were a ‘bit deep’.. not that I’m shallow or anything… but just went on a bit too long at times. All in all though I found it useful – It Helped my Self-Help journey.. I’ve not read the others you’ve purchased so I’m interested to hear your feedback.. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. we do have so much in common! I have 5 grown children-well the last one is still at home, for the minute. Love these books! the Myss book will make you think. Do you watch Oprah’s Super Soul? these authors are often guests-as well as many other wonderful ones. well-best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am not sure if we have that in the UK, someone else might correct me though! I don’t really watch TV as such, as in sitting down and channel flicking. I mostly watch on catch up if I watch at all and then just documentaries on nature, science, history…that sort of thing…and films 🙂

      I’m so looking forward to getting stuck into the books!

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear what you think...

