The Best Things In Life Are Free

studio_20170124_094148

This is Arnold. Now don’t worry, I don’t go around talking to my stones all the time (or do I? *cue spooky music*) but this chap has been around long enough in my vicinity to get himself a name and a purpose. He is the stone I turn to where others may use Boji Stones or Moqui Marbles. Why? Well, because he was found in England where I live and so has the energy of the land turned into him over all the years Mother Earth took to make him. Add to him a big dollop of intention and he is the English equivalent in my mind and serves the same purpose in my meditations – a focus for my work, an anchor for my travels, protective and grounding.

I don’t know exactly what Arnold is made of, a bit of a mish mash I think, but he sits nicely in the palm of my hand and I love his criss-cross lines of quartz. I wouldn’t mind if he was part house brick…no judgement here. Plus he was free. I stumbled across him and took him home so long ago I can’t remember when I actually got him but he is still here and still actively being used.

The idea of showing Arnold to you all is to point out that, even though I love my crystals and their energies, there really is everything we need out there on our walks and in the woods around us, no matter where we live. The most in-tune energy wise and powerful tools we can use are the ones which have the energy of the land directly around us imprinted on them, just as we do. A river stone, a beach stone, a twig of fallen wood, pine cones, herbs from the garden, a feather…all these things are free and do not need to be purchased.

When you discover the world of nature around you, you discover how rich you actually are, not how rich you need to be to work with it. Freely given is always sweeter, in every area of our lives, and that includes what we choose to have around us to decorate our homes and what we use in our personal celebrations of nature.

download

This week those of you in the UK may wish to join Big Garden Birdwatch coming up on the 28th January. It is free to do, great to do with kids and very easy. The packs are downloadable and it doesn’t take much time.

15 thoughts on “The Best Things In Life Are Free”

  1. My husband often comes home from his daily walk with rocks in his pockets.
    I love taking a walks with my grandkids…..they find all the wonderful magical things to pick up….those feathers, shiny mica pebbles, pieces of metal and who knows what.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh so true Ms A – I’m so glad my mum passed on her love of nature and enjoying the ‘little things’ in life.. Life is so much more interesting as a result.. looking that little bit closer! A lovely post x

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear what you think...

